32. 24/VI/24: not the first entry from work
as the title suggests, this is not the first blog entry that I write from work, here at the waterpark
at least this year, for now I have exhausted all my options for entertainment that aren't this
I've tried working on road signs, but it's difficult when you only have blue at hand
it also takes very long to do like this, by hand, and I'm gonnna burn myself out anyway if I only make signs
I've tried making normal drawings, but I've only come out of that uninspired
I've also tried working on my fonts, which has actually yielded good results
I've finished the Excursions E (8x7 grid, 1'5 stroke width) upper and lowercase letters
I'll slowly finish that character set and move on to the other styles, as the full font is meant to be Excursions A through G
oh, I also redrew an old piece onto a newspaper, and I think it came out cool
the last thing I tried was writing stuff for a gazette, where I would talk about my maps, signs and other things
the the problem is that I don't have said drawings in front of me at work, so it's difficult to write about them
and so, the last option I have is writing about the things I have in my head, since I carry it around everywhere, for better or for worse
yesterday was a very nice day
my friend opened a new minecraft server for the summer, and while I had plenty of problems between recording and communicating with the other players, I still really enjoyed it
we all were together for the first, like, ten or fifteen minutes of actual playtime (we were around ten people playing), and once we all got our own islands, we began to settle down
after three hours, I managed to make a small tree farm, a wheat farm, a cobblestone generator, a hut for spending the night and a tiny train station with a weird design to allow for a single track to be used in both ways
after all, I'll need to grind a lot in the mine to get enough iron to link together all the islands with one track, let alone two tracks
I also gave my neighbour two blocks of dirt. she only wanted two. weird.
anyway, I only stopped playing because my parents arrived, they had come back from the beach, and we ate a couple of pizzas together
then, my friend asked if I wanted to go check out the bonfire happening later and I accepted
we went there, met up with two other friends, drank a jar of "rebujito" (white wine with soda) and waited until it began, getting a view in first row
it started at midnight. a chain of fire crackers ignited a flame in a large pile of pallets, and it started to grow
if you don't know, the whole thing thing is called "Hoguera de San Juan"
I don't know what it stands for, but watching the flames grow and dance around with the wind, along with the firework show in the sky as a background, was pretty beautiful
you know when you're standing next to a cliff and you wanna jump off? now imagine that with a bonfire taller than you and less than five feet away
and being so trapped in that thought that you don't feel your skin already burning
it's a thing that I was yanked back away from it
once the firework show ended, my male friend sadly got some ash in his eye, and we convinced him to go to the ambulance to get it checked out
after twenty minutes of looking for the ash, he was told to go to the health center, they'd find it there
he wasn't taken there by the ambulance, but by his father, which makes sense since the ambulance had to stick around at the event
and at the end of the night, I went to my grandma's house and slept there, since I had left my uniforms there and it was closer to work
and that's how yesterday was. today I woke up, went for some bread for us to eat for breakfast and then went to work
it's very calm today, which is to be expected from a monday, and moreso in june
the bad thing is that it's still 4PM, which means I still have four hours left of work, and I've finished this entry, so I don't know what I'm going to do next
maybe get a waffle
yeah, imma get a waffle
I'm back. it was very nice
something that's really annoying me about working here this year is the music. it's the exact same every day, the same songs in the same order!
I can understand that they've made a playlist of music that is safe to play at the park, but they don't even shuffle it, which is what pisses me off!
I'm so close to bringing my own mixtape (youtube playlist) and forcing it to be played. though it's very wild, since I have a single mixtape where everything goes, but oh well
it'll be fun when Tyler Okonma plays right after CamarĂ³n de la Isla through the intercom
this morning I saw an article about the war in Gaza
a civilian car, with a family inside, had 355 bullets shot at it from a tank, from 15 to 20 meters away. children were inside the car, and they could be seen from the tank
when paramedics arrived to the scene to try to take care of the family, they were shot dead too
I'm well aware that in this war like any other war, neither side is free of sin, but somehow reading this article felt like the last straw
and even still, I feel... wrong, for having the priviledge of watching this war as an outsider, from the comfort of my workplace or home
regardless, this is as open as I am willing to be about this topic, since everyone has a different opinion and I know better than speaking my mind in excess
but even then. free Palestine.