24. 2/III/24: mixed access highways and lane widths


just, shut up, chara
I don't know what's going on
you don't know either
just
please let's not talk about it
I cannot fucking think
my father is sitting next to me and he's doomscrolling, and it's so annoying
and not only that but the tv is on, and he's """watching""" it. ugh...
I'll try to talk about something else
you know how an interchange, in roads, is a way for two roads to intersect and do so with high capacity?
a one-off interchange is an interchange placed in a road where all other intersections are that, intersections, at grade
now, I wanna expand on this concept to create a new definition
I hereby pronounce a mixed access highway to be a road which has segments of limited and non-limited access
a limited access highway is your regular motorway or interstate, where you have interchanges and you cannot just drive onto the road
meanwhile a non-limited access highway is a normal road that you can just drive onto from whatever point and you do so thru regular intersections
an example of my concept of mixed access highway is the A-7 through algeciras
I CANNOT THINK, GOD DAMN IT
what I wanna say is that I don't think this is reasonable
having sections of limited access gives drivers a sense of security that makes them want to drive faster
switching ad-hoc between the two sections is horrible because, unless it is very clearly stated visually
and a road sign is not stating it clearly. it takes much more than a road sign to slow down a driver
you need to narrow the lane and get the road side obstacles closer to the road to really get the driver to slow down
I'm gonna lose my mind, but if I walk away I might seem rude
so I gotta stay here sitting next to him
god damn it
I should uhm, write down my ideal lane and shoulder widths. yeah that could be cool
METRIC
SpeedLimited accessNon-limited access
LaneShoulderObstaclesLaneShoulderObstacles
140-130 km/h3.60 m> 2.5 m> 5 m
120-110 km/h3.50 m> 4 m
100-90 km/h3.40 m> 1.8 m> 3 m3.4 m1.2 to 0.5 m> 1.5 m
80-70 km/h3.2 m1 to 0.2 m> 1 m
60-50 km/h3 to 2.8 m< 0.5 m> 0.3 m
40-30 km/h2.8 to 2.6 m> 0.1 m
IMPERIAL (nearest quarter of a foot)
SpeedLimited accessNon-limited access
LaneShoulderObstaclesLaneShoulderObstacles
87-81 mph11¾'> 7½'> 16½'
75-68 mph11½'> 13'
62-56 mph11'> 6'> 9¾'11'4 to 1½'> 5'
50-43 mph10½'3½ to ½'> 3½'
37-31 mph9¾ to 9¼'< 1½'> 1'
25-19 mph9¼ to 8½'> ½'
shoulder widths do not include truck aprons
"Obstacles" is the distance at which horizontal obstacles should be allowed to exist from the edge of the lane
corresponding to the way of driving (right edge for right-hand driving countries)
trees, road sign posts, guardrails, retaining walls, buildings and cliffs count as horizontal obstacles


I tried to not pick these numbers all crazy and shit, it's kinda based in the books and experience of Carlos Kraemer
yep, university is being pretty useful for my roadgeek brain lmao
I'm pretty thankful to that man. he's almost everywhere too, so that's great lol


Crescent, you know that they were only trying to help.
Just like you talk to them and give them advice trying to help them, you need to let others help you.
I can see why you were annoyed, but that was not an appropiate way to react.